Mermaid Song

         for Aya at fifteen

Damp-haired from the bath, you drape yourself 

upside down across the sofa, reading, 

one hand idly sunk into a bowl

of crackers, goldfish with smiles stamped on. 

I think they are growing gills, swimming 

up the sweet air to reach you. Small girl, 

my slim miracle, they multiply.

In the black hours when I lie sleepless, 

near drowning, dread-heavy, your face 

is the bright lure I look for, love's hook 

piercing me, hauling me cleanly up.                                                                                                            

                            ~ Kim Addonazio
One response to “Mermaid Song

  1. That’s a bit of a startling shift there at the end.

Leave a Reply

