Birdsong

I love the sounds of birds when I can hear them. Because it’s not that they get quiet, it’s that I stop listening; when I crowd up the air with menial distractions, take my pulse to the beat of wish-I-was refractions.  See, I love the sound of birds, when I can hear them.

 And I love the sound of birds because they remind me of treetops, and how much farther still we have to grow. The infinite potential, the beauty of that movement, the arcade forest fire of it all.  So help me to remember to take a silent moment to thank the world for the decadence it brings, that it would take the time to furnish us in beauty and leave us draped in birdsong in the spring. 

Leave a Reply

